Sunshine on a cloudy day…..

First off, it’s been a bit since I’ve posted a recent project.  There are a few underway here at casa Bentz, including one that I am SUPER excited to finish and show you guys!!! It’s intermediate success led to me doing a happy dance around the garage!

Here’s a little hint………it has SOMETHING to do with my previous post where I tragically found out that my beloved PB mercury glass pumpkins were sold out!

You will just have to wait and see until I get her all wrapped up!

Anyway, as you know, I have been coming to terms with summer ending, cooler days (meaning the impending doom of winter) and cloudy skies.  It was a super rainy/cloudy/gloomy day today.  As I got home from work, there was a little “summer” surprise peeking out at me as I pulled in the driveway…………

This big guy in the front and his friend in the back……..

……have grown at the bottom outside of our garden retaining wall!  I had a hanging plant like this last year in our garden, but not this year! These little seeds must have survived all last winter (with its 24+ inches of snow), through the construction of our little retaining wall this spring, and are now blooming at the end of summer/early Fall as a little happy treat!

(PS, I’m not a gardener…..I kill more plants than actually survive…..if you were a plant, your odds of survival in my care are very limited……let’s hope I don’t have this same bad luck with our future children!!!!)

What can I do with these?  They aren’t weeds (like the rest of their friends that have popped up all over the garden with all of our recent rain).  NOTE: Weeding the garden is at the bottom of my fun list, along with cooking potatoes (these have been my nemesis since we got married almost 4 years ago – those buggers are NOT easy to cook !)

FLOWERS:  Do I replant them in the actual garden? What about the impending doom of winter? Will they come back next year or should I just leave them to live their Fall life at the base of the wall?  Unless I get some help with this, these pretty little beauties full of bloom and promise are goners!  Thoughts? Suggestions??

These little flowers were a good reminder that even in the clouds and gloom of a rainy “cough” Fall day, there is always something to be thankful and happy for! Happiness can sprout up where and when you least expect it!!!

Leave a Reply

